About IRDC



The Itsekiri Regional Development Committee was established with the sole intention of developing the 23 communities of Chevron impacted communities via provision of basic infrastructure such as concerte jetties, cottage hospitals, housing, education and others.

The IRDC became a duly registered entity with the Delta State ministry of Woman affairs, Asaba in 2009.

Our vision: To be the number one platform for achieving model development and creating wealth in the Niger-Delta

Our mission: To develop local expertise and capacity for sustainable development in the Niger-Delta through the provision of technical and financial support in housing, support to small business development and improve access to education and health sector.

Essentially the IRDC seeks to achieve the following objectives.

To promote a safe and secure environment within the Niger-Delta in which the communities can fulfil its development potentials.

To address employment and economic empowerment expectations within the Niger-Delta region.

To promote efforts to pursue peace and stability through effective peace-building processes.


Since the inception of the IRDC it has undertaken wide range of infrastructural and non-infrastructural projects including water supplies, rural roads and drainage networks, concrete jetties, foot bridges, town halls, housing for displaced people, scholarships, micro-credit scheme for her women and others. These projects were identified in a series of sustainable livelihood assessments conducted by the IRDC and incorporated into detailed community development plans.

253 community development projects have been completed and handed over to 23 communities in the Niger-Delta region and others are at various level of completion.

In 2015 for instance, the IRDC managed a total of 57 infrastructural and 6 non-infrastructural projects, including scholarship to 320 students at the secondary, tertiary and graduate level.


List of IRDC 23 communities

  1. Omadino Community
  2. Ijaghala Community
  3. Ode-Ugborodo Community
  4. Ugbegungun Community
  5. Madangho Community
  6. Ogidigben Community
  7. Ajudiabo Community
  8. Sagharatie Community
  9. Kolokolo Community
  10. Usor Community
  11. Tisun Community
  12. Eghoro Community
  13. Ureju Community
  14. Jakpa Community
  15. Tebu Community
  16. Gbokoda Community
  17. Aje- Meta Community
  18. Udo Community
  19. Ebrohimi Community
  20. Obaghoro Community
  21. Bateren Community
  22. Deghele Community
  23. Ugbolegin Community

All in Warri South, Warri South West and Warri North Local Government Council of Delta State.

Project Executed:

  1. Provision of 6 Unit 2 bedroom detached bungalow on raft foundation at Ode-Ugborodo Community, Warri South West LGA
  2. Provision of 16 unit 2 bedroom detached bungalow on strip foundation at Omadino Community, Warri South LGA
  3. Upgrading, funishing and equipping of Itsekiri RDC training Complex and skill acquisition training of 438 beneficiaries.
  4. Provision of a town hall at Eghoro Community, Warri North LGA
  5. Provision of town hall at Jakpa Community, Warri North LGA

Micro credit scheme for SME